Cross-Training: F Train at On Your Mark

As I’m prepping for marathon training, I’m starting to become overwhelmed by the amount of time I’m going to have to commit and schedule finagling I’ll have to do. Run club on Mon/Thurs/Sat. X-Training on Wed/Sun. Tuesday is obviously reserved for Pretty Little Liars. And resting, I guess.

 This is all tentative and a work in progress. I’m still trying to figure out how it’s possible to do everything I want to do without giving up anything or potentially hurting myself. What I’ve learned: it’s hard and nearly impossible.

Yesterday I had one of THE BEST workouts I’ve had in a long, long time. Last week’s class was rough, mentally and physically. I had convinced myself that by taking time off to rest after my half-marathon, I had lost all of the mileage and strength I built up over my training. No bueno. Running/training is so much harder mentally than it is physically.

BUT! Yesterday, I packed my bag and headed over to the gym after work where I absolutely demolished the workout.

ImagePlus I did it all sporting Maryland pride. Just LOOK at my flag socks. Please. Try and show me a better flag (spoiler: you can’t).

The class was set up as 8 stations, 4 rounds, 45 seconds at each station: 

  1. 10 Box taps then shuffle to a cone and back
  2. One-legged squat jumps w/ right foot rounds 1/3, left foot 2/4 (we had to do this off of a step and then again over another object)
  3. Walk on treadmill at incline 30 and speed from 2.0-4.0
  4. Burpees with medicine ball slam (see here – I didn’t look as bad ass, though)
  5. Static lunge against tire for 30 seconds, jump lunges for 15 seconds
  6. Low push-up hold for 30 seconds, push-ups for 15 seconds
  7. Squat jumps with a sprint after we got to the end of the line
  8. Lunge with opposite foot pressed against wall and swiss ball hold (this probably makes no sense, but it killed me)

I love classes that really push me and not boring, which basically sums this class up. 

If you’re in the Chicago area check-out On Your Mark. With locations in Bucktown and the West Loop, you can’t go wrong. Plus, the first week is free!

What do you like to do for strength and/or cross-training?

 

Leave a comment