But I can’t keep runnin’, I just gotta keep keen and cunnin’

Chicago is GORGEOUS today, so if its beautiful where you live, read this then go outside.

view

my current view.

For the past month or so I’ve been having pain on the top of my foot. Remember when you were a kid and your parents would tie your shoes too tight and then it became super painful? (or maybe you’re 24 and you still tie your shoes too tight. Who really knows?)

Moving on… that’s the kind of pain.

So, like all responsible adults do, I consulted the trusty Google.com to find out what could be wrong. I’ve narrowed it down to two things: extensor tendonitis or a stress fracture. I still haven’t gone to the doctor. My foot is still swollen and sometimes in pain. I promise I’ll get it checked out… soon.

This past week I decided to take it relatively easy and spent much of it taking advantage of the variety of yoga studios my ClassPass membership features.

If you’re not already familiar with ClassPass, here is a description from their website:

ClassPass is a monthly membership to the best boutique fitness classes in your city. There are thousands of classes available to ClassPass members, including cycling, pilates, yoga, strength training, dance, martial arts, and more.

I didn’t use it to its full advantage my first month and was kind of ‘meh’ about the service, but now I’m in love and am excited to use the ‘flex’ part when I travel!

Monday: I was pretty tight still from my runs on Friday and Saturday. My knee had also started bothering me from all the walking I did Sunday, so I took the Foam Roller-Yoga Express class at Power Sculpt Fitness with Trina Foresman (who is wonderful, btw). LOVE LOVE LOVE. I had a couple of friends ask me why I needed to take a foam rolling class, but as someone who is a-w-f-u-l at recovery, I needed this. Trina really encouraged everyone to go at their own pace and left no part of the body unrolled. I love and hate her for this. Rolling out my IT bands made me want to shed tears all over the entire studio. Alas, I remained tough and just cursed repeatedly in my head.

Tuesday: Looking for something a little more, I took Becky McNichol’s AIR class at AIR Aerial Fitness. I’ve taken a couple of AIR classes before and was excited to be back with the silks. There was a lot more cardio in her class than the other ones I’ve taken, which was a nice surprise! Some people may not like it if they’re expecting more yoga, but my poor legs were burning after the 273 lunges we did. Note: I’m also a big baby and am afraid of a lot of the inversions, so I took advantage of some but not all. I have this thing about falling on my head. I DON’T KNOW.

Anyway, can we talk about the top I wore? I’ve been obsessed with it for the past couple of weeks and actually want to wear it for every work out but that would be gross and even though I can be pretty gross, I do have my limits. The subtle hi-lo, breathability (and THE BACK!!) has made this literally one of the most perfect workout tops I’ve ever owned. I’ve ran, done yoga & tabata in this top and it’s super versatile. I really love that it doesn’t fall above my head when I’m in downward dog or furiously mountain climbing.

nike_topDisclaimer: Nike provided me with the top (Elastika 2.0), but all opinions are my own.

Wednesday: AM workout took place at Fit Body Boot Camp with instructor Gino. It was Tabata Wednesday, so we started with a dynamic workout and then got into the workout. 8 stations, 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off:

  • Walking forward lunges with medicine ball
  • Squats with dumbbell hold
  • Mountain climbers
  • Reverse lunge with medicine ball
  • V-Ups with medicine ball
  • TRX jump squats

What. A. Workout. I think I sweat for a good hour after the class. Since this is only a 30 min class, it was perfect to take before work. I could sleep in a little, commute and get ready all by 8:30am. After the workout they took my picture so the instructors could know who I am for the future, which is great and AWFUL. The instructors may not realize who I am until 10 minutes into the workout, “OH! Emily! I didn’t recognize you without your beet-red face.”

My PM workout was at Spring Yoga. This was my second time taking the Restorative Yoga & Reiki class with Norma. I can’t even put into words how much I love/need this class. It doesn’t provide much of a physical workout, but mentally I always leave in such a great place. Thank you, Norma.

Thurs/Fri: I took both of these days off.

Saturday: I joined Nike Running Bucktown/Go City Runners for their Saturday AM run. I’m still a little nervous, so I only did 3 miles (they offer 3, 5, or a varying long run). It was a great run, but I’m still struggling mentally with the fact I’m not as fast as I was during marathon training.

run 4.11

Afterwards I joined two of my friends for brunch ~al fresco~ and hi, hello, today is officially perfect!

Now, if you haven’t already, go outside and have an iced latte for me!

4 responses to “But I can’t keep runnin’, I just gotta keep keen and cunnin’

  1. Hi Emily,

    I am David Bostik, owner of Chicago North Center Fit Body Boot Camp. Thank you for the kind words and I am glad to see you enjoyed the session. We pride ourselves in providing a very quick and efficient workout that gets people results and saves them time while building an atmosphere that people enjoy coming to. Typically we try to take people’s picture before the session though so sorry about that. 🙂

    Anyways, I hope we see you again soon and let me know if you ever have any other comments or questions about our program.

    Thanks again!

    David Bostik

  2. Nice workouts! I had some weird foot pain before and what helped me was re-lacing my shoes so that the laces don’t cross my instep (only at the top and bottom). Also try the hop test to figure out if it’s a stress issue.

Leave a Reply

