But Sometimes I DO Get Tired // {what i’m running to}

During my marathon training I practiced running with and without music. I could do without, but my pace was definitely more ideal when running with music.

The night before I ran the Chicago marathon I stayed up an unnecessarily long time finding and downloading songs, placing them in the best order, and making sure I had at least 5 hours’ worth of music. In my head, music > sleep. WHAT WOULD I DO IF I DIDN’T LISTEN TO MUSIC DURING MY MARATHON?

Answer:  I would still run a marathon. Happily.

I didn’t listen to one second of music the entire time. To be completely honest, I don’t think I would’ve enjoyed my marathon experience nearly as much as I did if I ran with music. Hearing random strangers scream “GO EMILY!”, eating the donut holes around mile 3, taking the jello shot with less than a mile to go, attempting to run and dance to the Mariachi band in Pilsen: this is what made the marathon for me. While music definitely would’ve helped, I also would’ve felt a disconnect from the crowd.

Unfortunately, my regular runs no longer contain the same amount of crowd support 😦 so music is necessary to keep me going. By no means a complete list, this is what I’ve been running to lately:

  1. King Kunta – Kendrick Lamar

  2. Sun Models – Odesza feat. Madelyn Grant
  3. Bossy – Kelis
  4. I Don’t Get Tired – Kevin Gates
  5. Our Own House – MisterWives
  6. Heaven Only Knows – Towkio feat. Chance the Rapper, Lido & Eryn Allen Kane

Do you have any ‘power songs’ for running? What are they?

2 responses to “But Sometimes I DO Get Tired // {what i’m running to}

  1. Oooooo thank you for posting these! I am always on the lookout for new music, especially right before this race because my playlist is a little stale. I listen to a lot of 80’s music when I run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

